Names and Children

When I first started writing Shattered Dreams, I simply sat down at my computer and started putting words down on the page.  After getting several chapters into it, I realized that this was not going to be like my previous attempts in that I wasn’t going to just quit after a few days.  So, I needed a name for my new endeavor.  After talking to my husband about it, he came up with the name “Gemini Moon” which seemed fitting at the time since it was about twin shapeshifters.

However, as is often the case, once the words kept going, the name didn’t quite fit the story any longer.  By the end of the first book, it was obvious that there were going to be some unresolved issues that would demand a second book.  So now my work was going to evolve from a single manuscript to a second.   Since the second one was going to pick up with the life of the other twin, the name Gemini Moon still kind of fit so I decided to go with that for the name of the series.  It wasn’t long after beginning number two that it was obvious that a third and even a fourth was going to be needed as well that wouldn’t focus solely on the twins and that meant the name, Gemini Moon, no longer relevant.  The tentative name of the series is now Luna’s Children because one common theme that will run through the series is the gifts and abilities that specific characters have as endowed to them by their protector.  Perhaps this one will stick?

So far everything seems to be going well with the series and I’m sticking to Luna’s Children” as the series name with book one being called Shattered Dreams and book two is being called Broken Melody.

Luna’s Children has another significance to me as well.  This endeavor has become much like a child for me as well.  I spend time daily fussing over and nurturing my creations.  I know the characters as well as I know my own family – their tempers, attitudes and nuances have become a second nature for me.  Since my husband has been with me every step of the way, they are also his children as well.  He has been right beside me and helped me in more ways than I can ever imagine.  I may have “given birth” to them, but he has definitely been a major influence in shaping them.  Whereas I am Mother, he is Father and I know that I couldn’t do this without him.

As is normal for any child, there are temper tantrums and moments of pure pig-pigheadedness when nothing seems to go right.  Sometimes I feel that my “children” sulk and hide from me and it becomes so frustrating.  I can, on occasion, coax them back out but many times I have to leave them alone until they come out on their own.  During those times I often read a book or watch a television show.  That has become more and more difficult as time goes on because I’m so impatient to get finished and get onto the next one.  By my reckoning, there’s going to be four or five books in the Luna’s Children series.

Saturday morning, I woke up early with an idea for a completely new book that has nothing to do with Luna’s Children.  As I lay in the bed at seven a.m. and thought about this new idea, the urge to put it down on paper before I lost it consumed me and so I did it.

This brings me to the problem I’m currently experiencing.  I’m still trucking along on Melody, but this new ‘child’ is being very demanding that I spend some time developing it.  Being a mother to a single child, I’ve never had to deal with sibling rivalry other than with my own brothers and sister, so what do I do now?  Do I stop work on Melody or wait till the end before picking up the new one (tentatively named Fosterling)?  Do I finish Melody completely?  Do I finish the series?  I don’t want my new child to be ignored but as most parents of multiples discover, you just don’t have the time to devote to just at a time.  Management is key.

Fosterling was on my mind all night last night and has become a demanding little bugger, clamoring for my attention.  I think I’m going to have to take it on next, right after I finish Melody or I’ll never get any peace.

That’s the plan for now.  We’ll see how it pans out.

One thought on “Names and Children

  1. You have been an inspiration to me, nudged me in the right direction, without you I’d either be sat drumming my fingers, daydreaming or mindlessly muttering to myself about maybe one day realising my dream. Well, thanks to you I’ve not only made headway into my first book but also started a couple of other mini projects. So, Thank You! Lets hope there are no ‘head meets keyboard’ moments in the near future.

Leave a Reply

