Lets Celebrate!

Image

Well the day has come!   After all that blood, sweat and tears, I have finally sent my newborn baby out into the big world.

I had a long hard think on how I was going to publish.  Do I go with traditional methods or go for it myself?  After reading a lot of information, I took the self publish route.  Traditional publishing takes a lot of time, is not guaranteed and even if its purchased, it may never see print.  Self publishing means it will be published in ebook form, is up and available in little time and is in a format that most of the world prefers now.  Of course with self publishing I also have to take care of my own publicity.  That is a really big deal.

It takes a lot of work to get a book ready for publishing.  Every website requires its own format and while they are similar, they are not the same.  Because of this, it has taken me a full day to get Dreams up on 3 websites, Nook, Amazon and Smashbooks.  I checked on iTunes but that is a whole different experience.  Since Smashbooks has the correct format for it, I’ll just see how that goes first.

It has been quite a ride, getting to this point, but I’m happy to be here.  I had set up certain goals for myself and I’m rather proud that I have made it through a few of them.  Write a full manuscript – check.  Get it published – check.  Sell it to someone who I don’t know – check.

My wonderful friend, Elienne, who lives in the UK, was the first one to purchase my book.  She literally sat there refreshing the screen until it showed up then purchased it.  How amazing is that?  I have, however, sold 2 copies in the UK so that means someone I don’t know got the second.   Since then, another 7 have been sold in the US so I have a grand total of 9 sales as of now.  Considering its been out just about 24 hours, I’m really excited!

Next on my list is to get Broken Melody ready for editing.  It’s through the first rundown (rough draft) and now working on the second.  Once it gets through first rough edit by me, it’ll be sent out to my beta readers, then back to my editor.  I’m targeting the end of December or first of January for publication date.

Leave a Reply

