Plum Flabbergasted

The crazy train is still going full tilt and I have to admit the ride has been phenomenal and a little overwhelming.  I know I’ve used the term overwhelming quite a lot in the past few weeks but the word is the best way to describe the incredible well of emotions that have been front and center since June 20.

For those of you who may be new to my little world, I’ve been pursuing my dream of becoming an author for a few  years now.  I won’t bore you with the hows and whys – I’ve already blogged about it before.  However, in this pursuit, I’ve written five books within three different genres.  I have a set of three wolf shifter books that I wrote first and published and have since pulled for a revamp.  At the time I was so proud of myself for accomplishing a goal.  The series has a small following and I get questions from time to time on when I will finish out the series with the final offering.  As always, the answer is “soon”.  I do have a final manuscript about half finished but ran into some snags.  I have plans (ha! – Rufus is still lurking out there darn him!) to finish it before the end of the year.

Then along came Reclamation.  I never worked so hard on one manuscript in my life and that includes my time in college.  Reclamation is urban fantasy / YA / Christian fantasy.  At the time I didn’t know exactly why I was writing it but in retrospect, I see it as a way to cope with family issues at that time.  I won’t go into that either – I’ve blogged several times about that dark time in my life.  Through Reclamation, I was able to experience the pleasure and the pain of traditional publishing. That, in turn, caused a huge learning curve in my writing.  Even I could see the improvement in my craft.

So that brings me to the latest offering – Protecting Joselyn.  Once again, I jumped the genre train and went into contemporary / suspense / military romance.  I have made it no secret that I am a HUGE fan of Susan Stoker.  (Again, if you like this genre, I urge you to check her out.   http://www.stokeraces.com) She has a Kindle World and graciously allowed me to write in it. At first, I was going to wait until I finished the final book in my shifter series but the idea wouldn’t leave me.  So, I gave in and wrote the book in 27 days.  It was one of the most fun I have ever had and one of the most nerve wrecking moments of my life.  I didn’t want to embarrass myself nor damage the trust from Susan.

Pardon my Southern coming out here…  Ya’ll, I was plum flabbergasted.

There was a snafu in the publishing making it late to come out on the promised June 20th.  However, Joselyn hit the ground running and when the ratings came out I was completely floored. She hit number FIVE in Kindle World Romance.

I thought that was the best I could hope for – NOPE.  She clawed her way to 4 and then latched on with both claws.  Holy Crapadoodle!

Over the last 3 weeks, I’ve watched her stick around the 4-7 marks almost exclusively until July 7th.  With the release of eight new novels in Operation Alpha, I prepared to kiss that top 10 spot goodbye.  It had been one heck of a run and I could be nothing but proud of it.  Unknown to top 5 in any genre in Amazon is stinking amazing to me.

But no!  Joselyn exhibited the same tenacity that got her through her on trails and refused to give up her place.  I have watched as she has dropped and rebound.  Dropped and rebound.  Each time I think, Okay, this is it.  She’s done – whew.

Nope.

A few days ago, I held my breath as she slipped to the number eighteen spot and I decided this was it.  Goodbye old girl.  It’s been one hell of a ride – time to get Saving Olivia finished and hope for lightening to strike twice.

The dear hubby asked me where she was in the ranking yesterday.  I hadn’t looked  in over 24 hours so I went and checked her out thinking she probably in the hundreds by now.

4

Wait.. WHAT?  Four.. Is she back in the top 5?  She is! HOLY HANNAH!!

Just under a month since release and my girl is still holding on by her fingernails.  I’m overwhelmed.  OVER. WHELMED.

This past week, Susan Stoker’s book “Claiming Grace” hit the number 1 spot on Amazon. She expressed her amazement on Facebook.  It’s well deserved – her books are awesome.  I may not be in the top ten on  The Big List, but I think I know how she feels.  She’s a big fish in a big pond.  I’m a little fish in a little pond.  I’m happy here.  Not to say I wouldn’t love to take a dip in that bigger one but if it never happens, I can look at Joselyn and be content.

As I write this, Joselyn has slid back to number 9.  I’m not saying she’s on her way out because she loves to prove me wrong.  Either way, it’s been one heck of a ride and one that isn’t possible without my followers.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart.  It’s an incredible gift you have given me.

Time to get back to Olivia. She has her own voice and demands to be heard.  So, lets see if we can make magic again.  I’m shooting for an August 22 publication date.

TOOT TOOOT – Crazy train now boarding!  Hang on folks, lets see what Olivia can do!

–Melissa

2 thoughts on “Plum Flabbergasted

  1. Susan Stoker says:

    You should be doubly proud because Kindle World had a HUGE sale on a TON of books, so you hanging in there with all those 99 cent books is amazing! Especially since yours is a full length, 3.99 book!
    Enjoy the ride, you’ve earned it!

    • I have enjoyed it. And, there’s no way I could have done this without your help, support and mentoring. You are an awesome lady and I’ll count myself lucky to know you. Keep cranking them out, Susan!

Leave a Reply

